My Redeemer Lives

In my devotions this past week I was reading in Job and was impressed with this particular portion of scripture.  It seems as though it could be three messages, but it is only one portion of scripture so I will make it the three points of one message.

Job 19:23-29

“Oh, that my words were written!
Oh, that they were inscribed in a book!
24 That they were engraved on a rock
With an iron pen and lead, forever!
25 For I know that my Redeemer lives,
And He shall stand at last on the earth;
26 And after my skin is destroyed, this I know,
That in my flesh I shall see God,
27 Whom I shall see for myself,
And my eyes shall behold, and not another.
How my heart yearns within me!
28 If you should say, ‘How shall we persecute him?’—
Since the root of the matter is found in me,
29 Be afraid of the sword for yourselves;
For wrath brings the punishment of the sword,
That you may know there is a judgment.”

I.  The Word (vv23-24)

Each time that I read this passage I am reminded that these words have been inscribed in a book.   They are now, and have been for a long time, recognized as a part of God’s Word.    The words of Isaiah 40:8 come to mind  “The grass withers, the flower fades, But the word of our God stands forever.”

At North Central University, where I went to school there is a large granite stone with verse 24 engraved on it sitting outside of the chapel.    It is a powerful visual reminder f the truth and permanency of God’s Word.

Jesus said in Matthew 5:18 “ For assuredly, I say to you, till heaven and earth pass away, one jot or one tittle will by no means pass from the law till all is fulfilled.

The Word of God is powerful and permanent.

II.  My Redeemer (vv25-27)

It is believed that Job lived in the time of the patriarchs, about 1800 BC.  When we read these verses in Job we know that he is talking about Jesus who would not appear on the earth for a long time.  Not only is Jesus our redeemer, but he is the full expression of God.  John 1:1 and 14 says ” In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.  And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth.”    Jesus revealed to us the nature of God.

Romans 5:1 “Therefore, having been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ,

We recognize that it is only through faith in Jesus, who died for us, that we can be saved.  He is our one and only redeemer. There is other.  There is no other way.   John 14:6 “Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.

III.  Judgement (vv28-29)

There will come a day of judgement for all on the earth.  That will be a great day of reward and a terrible day of punishment depending on your relationship with God.

Revelations 20:11-15

Then I saw a great white throne and Him who sat on it, from whose face the earth and the heaven fled away. And there was found no place for them. 12 And I saw the dead, small and great, standing before God, and books were opened. And another book was opened, which is the Book of Life. And the dead were judged according to their works, by the things which were written in the books. 13 The sea gave up the dead who were in it, and Death and Hades delivered up the dead who were in them. And they were judged, each one according to his works. 14 Then Death and Hades were cast into the lake of fire. This is the second death. 15 And anyone not found written in the Book of Life was cast into the lake of fire.

All have sinned.  Those who have placed their faith in Jesus will be forgiven.

Romans 6:23

 For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Those who have rejected Christ will be cast into the lake of fire.  Those who have placed their faith in Jesus will give an account of their lives.

I Corinthians 5:910

Therefore we make it our aim, whether present or absent, to be well pleasing to Him. 10 For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, that each one may receive the things done in the body, according to what he has done, whether good or bad.

What have we done with the new life and the new opportunity that God has given us?

In this short passage in Job we see the comfort of the solid foundation that the Word of God gives us, the hope that we have in our redeemer Jesus Christ and the reality of the coming judgement.  It is a brief but powerful reminder of the hope that is within us.

 

These are the sermon notes from 10/15/17.  All quotes are from the New King James Version of the Bible.  Any advertisements that might appear are placed by WordPress.  I have no control over them, nor do I receive any money from them. 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

