Attitude

Our memory verse for this week is a verse that all teenagers should be required to know.  Actually, it would be good for adults to review often as well, as it seems to address a common problem.

I.  Do Not Complain Philippians 2:14*

Do all things without complaining and disputing,

As I read this verse I am reminded of all the times that the children of Israel complained as they were traveling through the wilderness.  God had miraculously brought them out of Egypt, through the Red Sea, provided for their daily needs: yet they complained.

It did not end well for them.

God has brought us out of darkness and into the light of His love.  He watches over us, provides for us , protects us: yet often we complain.

We should learn a lesson from the children of Israel and learn to be content.

Being content, does not mean being complacent.  It is appropriate for us to work to improve the world around us.  It does mean having an attitude that is grateful for what we have received, rather than groaning about what others have that we covet for ourselves.

God is our provider.  We should not be grumbling about His provision.

God is our Lord.  We should not complain or dispute over the tasks that He sets before us.

II.  Rejoice!  Philippians 3:1

Finally, my brethren, rejoice in the Lord. For me to write the same things to you is not tedious, but for you it is safe.

Whatever our circumstances may be, whatever tasks we may be called upon to do, we can rejoice in the knowledge of God’s love for us.

I am reminded about when the disciples came back from their assignment to go out in pairs and preach the gospel.  When they came back together they were excited about the demons being subject to them.  Jesus told them instead to be glad that their names were written in heaven.  (Luke  10:1-19)  We too, can rejoice that our names are written in heaven.

At any given time we can look around us and see both good and evil.  We should focus on the good.  That will make it much easier to rejoice.

Philippians 4: 8

 Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.

III.  Press On: Philippians 3:12=14

 Not that I have already attained, or am already perfected; but I press on, that I may lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has also laid hold of me. 13 Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, 14 I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

I have participated in five 24 hour runs.  One year I completed 30 miles and quit, one year I completed 50 miles and quit, two years I completed a little over 63 miles and quit.  Only one year did I stay at the track for the full 24 hours.  That year I completed 77.45 miles.  That is the only year that I feel I actually completed the race.

In our Christian walk, we should not quit early.   There is no retirement.  God has a plan and a purpose for us for as long as we are on this earth.  It is fine to fondly remember the things that God has done in the past, but let us press on to see what God has for us today.

II Timothy 4:7-8

 I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Finally, there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will give to me on that Day, and not to me only but also to all who have loved His appearing.

Our attitude can really make a difference in our lives.  Let us not complain, but rather rejoice, as we press on to finish the race.

These are the sermon notes from 5/1/16.  All scripture is from the New King James Version of the Bible.  Any advertisements that might appear are placed by WordPress.  I have no control over them, nor do I receive any money from them. 

*This is the memory verse for this week. 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

