Go!

The Great Commission is a classic portion of scripture that gives the Christian church the mandate to evangelize the world.

Matthew 28:18-20

And Jesus came and spoke to them, saying, “All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. 19 Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Amen.

I.  Go!

Verse 29 begins with the simple word ‘Go’.  As Christians we are called to an active response, not a passive existence.  In the book of Acts Jesus tells His disciple that they will be His witnesses in Jerusalem, Judea, Samaria and to the end of the earth.  (Acts 1:8)   We too, are called to testify of the hope that is within us.  We are not to keep the Good News to ourselves, but to share it with others.

II.  Make Disciples

Sometimes in evangelical circles it seems as though the end goal is getting someone to say the sinners prayer.  We count up the number of people who say this prayer and keep a record to include on our annual report.  However, we are called to make disciples.  Conversion is only the first step.  We want people to be life-long followers of Jesus.  We teach them, and encourage them to follow all of the commandments of Jesus.  Baptism is a public declaration that a person is a disciple of Jesus.  Salvation may be private.  Baptism should be public.

III.  We Are Not Alone

In my philosophy class at the college one of the philosophers we study is an atheist named Jean Paul Satre.  He acknowledges that the consequence of his atheism is a belief that we are forlorn and in anguish.  Forlorn because we are alone in the world and in anguish because there is no God to provide direction.

I am glad to say that we are not alone.  God is with us always.  God is a spirit and as such is not limited by physical restraints.  It is a great comfort to acknowledge the presence of God.  God also provides direction for us by His Word and His Spirit.

IV.  The Good Shepherd:  Psalms 23

The Lord is my shepherd;
I shall not want.
He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul;
He leads me in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil;
For You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil;
My cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
All the days of my life;
And I will dwell in the house of the Lord
Forever.

Jesus referred to Himself as the Good Shepherd.  We recognize that Jesus will guide our steps, that He will provide for us, and that He will protect us.  He has called us to a mission, but He has not left us alone.  He is with us always and will guide, provide and protect.

These are the sermon notes from 11/1/15.  Any advertisements that might appear are placed by WordPress.  I have no control over them, nor do I receive any money from them. 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

