His Mercy Endures Forever

There are portions of the Old Testament that clearly point to Jesus Christ.  Psalms that refer to Christ are called Messianic Psalms.  Psalms 118 is one example.

I.  Give Thanks for Mercy:  Psalms 118:1-4

Oh, give thanks to the Lord, for He is good!
For His mercy endures forever.

Let Israel now say,
“His mercy endures forever.”
Let the house of Aaron now say,
“His mercy endures forever.”
Let those who fear the Lord now say,
“His mercy endures forever.”

Certainly we should give thanks to God for He is good to us in so many ways.  All good gifts come ultimately from God.  He is deserving of our thanks.

His mercy endures forever.  We should understand and appreciate God’s grace and mercy.  Grace is receiving something good that we do not deserve.  Mercy is when we do not receive punishment that we do deserve.  We all have sinned.  The wages of sin is death, but God has given us life in Jesus Christ instead of the death we deserve.  His mercy endures forever, because we have been offered life forever.

II.  Trust in the Lord:  Psalms 118: 5-9

I called on the Lord in distress;
The Lord answered me and set me in a broad place.
The Lord is on my side;
I will not fear.
What can man do to me?
The Lord is for me among those who help me;
Therefore I shall see my desire on those who hate me.
It is better to trust in the Lord
Than to put confidence in man.
It is better to trust in the Lord
Than to put confidence in princes.

We will occasionally be in distress.  Life can be hard.  In times of trouble we do not need to be afraid.  God is on our side.  Truly as Christians we should have no fear.  “If God is for us, who can be against us?”  We can trust God.  He will come through for us.  We should understand that sometimes we must view this from an eternal perspective.  Our greatest reward is not of this world.

III.  Rejoice!  Psalms 118:15-18

The voice of rejoicing and salvation
Is in the tents of the righteous;
The right hand of the Lord does valiantly.
16 The right hand of the Lord is exalted;
The right hand of the Lord does valiantly.
17 I shall not die, but live,
And declare the works of the Lord.
18 The Lord has chastened me severely,
But He has not given me over to death.

We should expect that our lives will be filled with the joy of the Lord.  As Christians we should be able to rejoice over the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.  We should be able to appreciate the good gifts that God has for us in this life.

In these verses we begin to see evidence that this psalm is a messianic psalm.  The “right hand of the Lord” is a reference to Jesus Christ.  Jesus does die for our sins, but he does not remain dead but is raised up to life everlasting.  So we too, have a hope that goes beyond the grave, truly a reason for rejoicing.

IV.  The Gate:  Psalms 118:19-20

Open to me the gates of righteousness;
I will go through them,
And I will praise the Lord.
20 This is the gate of the Lord,
Through which the righteous shall enter.

There is only one gate through which we can enter into the presence of the Lord.  It is, of course, Jesus Christ.  John 10:7 “Then Jesus said to them again, “Most assuredly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep.”  The Hebrew word for gate is the same word as for door.  Either way, it is only through Jesus Christ that we will enter into heaven.  John 14:6 “Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.

V.  The Cornerstone:  Psalms 118:21-24

I will praise You,
For You have answered me,
And have become my salvation.

22 The stone which the builders rejected
Has become the chief cornerstone.
23 This was the Lord’s doing;
It is marvelous in our eyes.
24 This is the day the Lord has made;
We will rejoice and be glad in it.

Jesus Christ is the cornerstone upon which we can build our lives.  In Matthew 21:42 Jesus quotes this verse.  “Jesus said to them, “Have you never read in the Scriptures: ‘The stone which the builders rejected Has become the chief cornerstone. This was the Lord’s doing, And it is marvelous in our eyes’?”  God knew from the very beginning what He was going to do about the problem of sin. God shows us mercy by the atoning death of Jesus.  Matthew 7:24 says “ “Therefore whoever hears these sayings of Mine, and does them, I will liken him to a wise man who built his house on the rock:”  Jesus is the rock of our salvation, the rock upon which we build our lives.

VI.  The Light:  Psalms 118:25-28

Save now, I pray, O Lord;
O Lord, I pray, send now prosperity.
26 Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord!
We have blessed you from the house of the Lord.
27 God is the Lord,
And He has given us light;
Bind the sacrifice with cords to the horns of the altar.
28 You are my God, and I will praise You;
You are my God, I will exalt You.

Jesus Christ is the light of the world that has shown into the darkness.  Those who believe in Him are called to share His light with others.  Some reject the light and remain in darkness, but some receive His light and come into the presence of God.  Now we are called to let His light shine through us.  ” Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven. ” Matthew 5:16

Conclusion:  Psalms 118:29

Oh, give thanks to the Lord, for He is good!
For His mercy endures forever.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

