Complete the Work

There are times when we feel like giving up.  That we cannot carry on.  That we cannot overcome the obstacles that we face.  It is especially at those times that we need to remind ourselves of whom we serve and who is working in us.

I.  Trust in God:  II Samuel 22:2-4

And he said:

“The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer;
The God of my strength, in whom I will trust;
My shield and the horn of my salvation,
My stronghold and my refuge;
My Savior, You save me from violence.
I will call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised;
So shall I be saved from my enemies.

The Lord is my rock.  This is an image of stability.  As we trust in the Lord He provides a sense of assurance.  Everything will work out in the end.  We can have confidence in Him.

God is our source of strength.  We can do more with the help of God than we would ever do on our own. God will strengthen us for the journey that He has set before us.

God is my shield.  The devil cannot harm me, except for what God allows.  God does allow some things to get through to us, to test us to see if we will trust Him, to see how we will respond.  The tests and trials of this life make us stronger, and they are a witness to those around us.

When we are in trouble we should call upon the Lord.  He will give us wisdom and strength as we trust in Him.  He is worthy to be praised, for through Him, we can be victorious over whatever may come our way.  We shall be saved from our enemies by the grace of God which works through us.

II.  God Will Complete the Work in You:  Philippians 1:6

 being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ;

We can have confidence in God.  He does not leave His work unfinished.  He continues to work in our lives until we leave this world.  The work begins even before salvation as He prepares our hearts through the circumstances of our lives.  Then we are saved, and a new life in Christ begins.  We grow to maturity in Christ.  Then we live a life of service to God.  It is a rich, full life.  The work that God does in us is never completed in this life.  We continue to grow and develop more and more into the people that He means for us to be.  He continues His work, both in, and through us.

III.  Let Your Light Shine: Philippians 2:12-16

 Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling; 13 for it is God who works in you both to will and to do for His good pleasure.

14 Do all things without complaining and disputing, 15 that you may become blameless and harmless, children of God without fault in the midst of a crooked and perverse generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world, 16 holding fast the word of life, so that I may rejoice in the day of Christ that I have not run in vain or labored in vain.

To work out our salvation does not mean to earn our salvation, it means to live out our salvation.  If we are saved, then we should live like we are saved.  If we are a child of the king, we should live like He would want us to live.  If we have been born again, we should live a new life in Christ.

A part of this new life is to have the right attitude.  The work that we do is not always fun or glamorous.  Sometimes it is boring, difficult, even nasty. We should do our work without murmuring or complaining.

I think that this is a great verse for all children to memorize while they are young, and be reminded of constantly when they are teenagers. (v14)

Our lives should be different from people who are not living in a relationship with Christ.  The light of Christ has shown into our lives.  Now the light of Christ should shine through our lives.

We can trust God with our lives.  He will complete His work in us.  His light should shine through our lives.

To God be the Glory.

These are the sermon notes from 1/11/15.  Any advertisements that might appear are placed by WordPress.  I have no control over them, nor do I receive any money from them.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Complete the Work”

  1. Daniel Brown Says:

    Wrote on a similar theme this week. Maybe God is trying to say something.

    • Pastor Curt Says:

      There are a lot of people who quit. Some people think that God gives up on them. God doesn’t quit and neither should we. Thank you for your comment. I believe God is speaking to people.

Leave a Reply

