That Your Joy May Be Full

Most of us do not want to be miserable, except maybe those few people who seem to enjoy being miserable!  Most of us would rather experience joy in our lives.  If we are walking with God, our joy may be full.

I.  Love:  John 15:9-12

 “As the Father loved Me, I also have loved you; abide in My love. 10 If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love, just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and abide in His love.

11 “These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may remain in you, and that your joy may be full. 12 This is My commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you.

God loves us.  To abide in His love, we should be aware of His love.  His love never changes.  His love never fades.  When we are feeling down, we should meditate on His love for us.

To abide is His love, we should keep His commandments.  This does not mean that He stops loving us if we don’t, it means that we will not have the sense of His love because we are doing what grieves Him.

To abide in His love, we should love one another.  When we offer unconditional love to those around us, we are imitating God, who loves us unconditionally.

If we abide in His love, our joy will be full.

II.  Ask:  John 16:22-24

Therefore you now have sorrow; but I will see you again and your heart will rejoice, and your joy no one will take from you.

23 “And in that day you will ask Me nothing. Most assuredly, I say to you, whatever you ask the Father in My name He will give you. 24 Until now you have asked nothing in My name. Ask, and you will receive, that your joy may be full.

In this context, Jesus has just been talking about his coming death and resurrection.  They will sorrow at His death, but will rejoice in His resurrection.

As Christians we can ask God for whatever we desire.  We can ask in faith, believing that He is able to deliver.  We need to remember that, even as a loving father sometimes tells his children no, even so, God sometimes tells us no.

I John 5:14-15

 Now this is the confidence that we have in Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us. 15 And if we know that He hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we have asked of Him.

James 4:3

You ask and do not receive, because you ask amiss, that you may spend it on your pleasures.

Philippians 4:6

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God;

We can ask God for anything, knowing that He hears us, He loves us, and He is able to give us those things that are according to His will.

We can ask, and our joy will be full.

III.  Sanctify:  John 17:13-17

But now I come to You, and these things I speak in the world, that they may have My joy fulfilled in themselves. 14 I have given them Your word; and the world has hated them because they are not of the world, just as I am not of the world. 15 I do not pray that You should take them out of the world, but that You should keep them from the evil one. 16 They are not of the world, just as I am not of the world. 17 Sanctify them by Your truth. Your word is truth.

We are set apart to be the people of God.  This is a good thing.  God has given us His Word, the Bible, and we should follow it.  The Word of God is truth and if we follow the Word of God our joy will be full.

In this world we will still have tests and trials, but our joy is not based in the things of this world.

These are the sermon notes from 9/28/14.  Any advertisements that might appear are placed by WordPress.  I have no control over them, nor do I receive any money from them.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

