God Will Provide

My wife and I recently returned from our vacation.  On this vacation we took our 1983 Yamaha Venture motorcycle on a tour of national parks in the west.  We visited Theodore Roosevelt National Park, the Badlands, Mount Rushmore, Yellowstone, and Grand Tetons.  We put over 3000 miles on the bike and had a wonderful trip.  A couple of days after returning home, I had dropped Gloria off at Walmart and was headed to the school.  There was a flash and a puff of smoke from up near the battery compartment of the motorcycle.  I immediately pulled over and shut off the engine.  Then I pushed the bike a short distance up to a side road so that I would not have to deal with traffic.  I removed the cover and looked down at some charred wires.  Meanwhile, a man who had been cutting the grass on the property where I stopped came up and introduced himself.  He was a former motorcycle mechanic who looked over my bike, disconnected a wire he said I didn’t need, changed a fuse, and I was on my way.  I believe that those wires could have shorted out any time on our trip, but God arranged for them to short out at the right time for me to have help immediately available.

God will provide.

I.  Abraham:  Genesis 22:1-14

 Now it came to pass after these things that God tested Abraham, and said to him, “Abraham!”

And he said, “Here I am.”

Then He said, “Take now your son, your only son Isaac, whom you love, and go to the land of Moriah, and offer him there as a burnt offering on one of the mountains of which I shall tell you.”

So Abraham rose early in the morning and saddled his donkey, and took two of his young men with him, and Isaac his son; and he split the wood for the burnt offering, and arose and went to the place of which God had told him. Then on the third day Abraham lifted his eyes and saw the place afar off. And Abraham said to his young men, “Stay here with the donkey; the lad and I will go yonder and worship, and we will come back to you.”

So Abraham took the wood of the burnt offering and laid it on Isaac his son; and he took the fire in his hand, and a knife, and the two of them went together. But Isaac spoke to Abraham his father and said, “My father!”

And he said, “Here I am, my son.”

Then he said, “Look, the fire and the wood, but where is the lamb for a burnt offering?”

And Abraham said, “My son, God will provide for Himself the lamb for a burnt offering.” So the two of them went together.

Then they came to the place of which God had told him. And Abraham built an altar there and placed the wood in order; and he bound Isaac his son and laid him on the altar, upon the wood. 10 And Abraham stretched out his hand and took the knife to slay his son.

11 But the Angel of the Lord called to him from heaven and said, “Abraham, Abraham!”

So he said, “Here I am.”

12 And He said, “Do not lay your hand on the lad, or do anything to him; for now I know that you fear God, since you have not withheld your son, your only son, from Me.”

13 Then Abraham lifted his eyes and looked, and there behind him was a ram caught in a thicket by its horns. So Abraham went and took the ram, and offered it up for a burnt offering instead of his son. 14 And Abraham called the name of the place, The-Lord-Will-Provide; as it is said to this day, “In the Mount of the Lord it shall be provided.”

We recognize that the near sacrifice of Isaac is meant to be a symbol of the sacrifice that God would make of His only begotten son, Jesus.

God will provide.  He provides for our redemption through “the lamb of God who takes away the sins of the world” .  He will certainly provide for our needs.   We can trust Him.

II.  Isaac:  Genesis 24: 7, 12-19

The Lord God of heaven, who took me from my father’s house and from the land of my family, and who spoke to me and swore to me, saying, ‘To your descendants I give this land,’ He will send His angel before you, and you shall take a wife for my son from there…

 Then he said, “O Lord God of my master Abraham, please give me success this day, and show kindness to my master Abraham. 13 Behold, here I stand by the well of water, and the daughters of the men of the city are coming out to draw water. 14 Now let it be that the young woman to whom I say, ‘Please let down your pitcher that I may drink,’ and she says, ‘Drink, and I will also give your camels a drink’—let her be the one You have appointed for Your servant Isaac. And by this I will know that You have shown kindness to my master.”

15 And it happened, before he had finished speaking, that behold, Rebekah, who was born to Bethuel, son of Milcah, the wife of Nahor, Abraham’s brother, came out with her pitcher on her shoulder. 16 Now the young woman was very beautiful to behold, a virgin; no man had known her. And she went down to the well, filled her pitcher, and came up. 17 And the servant ran to meet her and said, “Please let me drink a little water from your pitcher.”

18 So she said, “Drink, my lord.” Then she quickly let her pitcher down to her hand, and gave him a drink. 19 And when she had finished giving him a drink, she said, “I will draw water for your camels also, until they have finished drinking.”

Abraham wanted a wife for his son from back home.  He sent his servant to get the job done.  Both Abraham and the servant trusted that God would provide the woman that was meant to be the wife of Isaac.  God directed things so that they worked out perfectly.  God is able to do things like that, not just in biblical times, but for us today.

III.  Jacob:

A.  Genesis 28:20-22

Then Jacob made a vow, saying, “If God will be with me, and keep me in this way that I am going, and give me bread to eat and clothing to put on, 21 so that I come back to my father’s house in peace, then the Lord shall be my God. 22 And this stone which I have set as a pillar shall be God’s house, and of all that You give me I will surely give a tenth to You.”

Jacob left home and trusted that God would provide.  He also promised to give God a tenth of what God gave to him.

B.  Genesis 32:9-10

Then Jacob said, “O God of my father Abraham and God of my father Isaac, the Lord who said to me, ‘Return to your country and to your family, and I will deal well with you’: 10 I am not worthy of the least of all the mercies and of all the truth which You have shown Your servant; for I crossed over this Jordan with my staff, and now I have become two companies.

God richly blessed Jacob.  It had been many years but God had done far more than simply provide food to eat and clothes to wear.

Not all of us will be made materially rich, but God will provide for His people.  We can trust Him.

God will provide.

These are the sermon notes from 7/27/14.  Any advertisements that may appear are placed by WordPress.  I have no control over them, nor do I receive any payment from them.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

