Open My Eyes

The Spirit of God uses the Word of God to build the people of God.

I.  Open My Eyes:  Psalms 119:18

Open my eyes, that I may see
Wondrous things from Your law.

I read somewhere that one of the early Greek philosophers made the claim that “philosophical contemplation brings the greatest joy”.  They  are wrong.  Having our eyes opened to the truth of the Word of God, easily surpasses philosophy.  It is a wonderful thing to have our eyes opened to God’s truth.  This is something that does not come about by human wisdom, but by the revelation of the Spirit.

II.  Teach Me and I Will:  Psalms 119:33-35

Teach me, O Lord, the way of Your statutes,
And I shall keep it to the end.
34 Give me understanding, and I shall keep Your law;
Indeed, I shall observe it with my whole heart.
35 Make me walk in the path of Your commandments,
For I delight in it.

God will do His part.  He will open the eyes of our heart so that we may understand.  His Spirit will convict us of truth and righteousness.  Then we must do our part.  We must exercise our will, with the help of the Holy Spirit, and do what is right.  Living for God is not a moment in time, but a lifetime of walking in obedience.

III.  A Lamp to My Feet:  Psalms 119:105

Your word is a lamp to my feet
And a light to my path.

I remember my first night on shore in Beirut, Lebanon back in 1982.  I was serving in a tank unit in the USMC.  We were there on a peacekeeping mission, but it was considered hostile territory.  Another marine and myself were brought out to a sentry post by the sergeant of the guard.  We were told not to use our flashlights.  It was so dark that I literally could not see my hand in front of my face.  It was a very long night…from midnight until six in the morning.  Every sound was startling and  suspicious.  I really was glad to see daylight arrive.

God’s Word provides a light in the darkness.  God’s Word provides a means by which we can know the right direction.  If we follow the light of  God’s Word, we won’t be fumbling around in the darkness.

IV.  Revive and Strengthen: Psalms 119: 25-28

My soul clings to the dust;
Revive me according to Your word.
26 I have declared my ways, and You answered me;
Teach me Your statutes.
27 Make me understand the way of Your precepts;
So shall I meditate on Your wonderful works.
28 My soul melts from heaviness;
Strengthen me according to Your word.

At times we grow weary from the struggle.  Right now, there is a popular song by Tenth Ave North called “Worn”.  I am sure that it is popular because so many people can relate to the feeling of being worn out.  Spending time in God’s Word can be a means that God uses to restore our strength.

V.  Great Peace:  Psalms 119:165

Great peace have those who love Your law,
And nothing causes them to stumble.

I cannot preach from Psalms 119 without referencing this verse.  It is one of Gloria’s all time favorite verses.  As we grow in our knowledge of the Word of God we are stabilized.  We can have a peace that is maintained by a confidence that does not rest on our own abilities, but by a solid trust in God.

VI.  Rejoice:  Psalms 118:21-24

I will praise You,
For You have answered me,
And have become my salvation.

22 The stone which the builders rejected
Has become the chief cornerstone.
23 This was the Lord’s doing;
It is marvelous in our eyes.
24 This is the day the Lord has made;
We will rejoice and be glad in it.

It is the Word of God that leads us to the Son of God.  Our salvation is in Jesus, the chief cornerstone.  This is marvelous and a reason to rejoice.

May God continue to open our eyes to the truth of His Word.  May His Spirit continue to use His Word to transform us into the people of God that we are meant to be.

These are the sermon notes from 2/9/14.  Any advertisements are placed by WordPress.  I have no control over them, nor do I receive any payment from them.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

