Raising Revenue, but not Taxes

I have entered late into the political arena.  Last year, for the very first time,  I attended the local and district  caucuses.  It was an educational experience, and I think that I will continue to be involved at least to some degree.

Just this week, I had another first.

I emailed our state senators and our representative.

I have often thought that I should contact those who serve us, but until now, I have not ever taken the time.

I should have started these activities earlier in my life.  It was not difficult.  Democracy works better when people take the time to be involved.

Here is the email that I sent.

Message: Dear Senator, 

I, along with many others, am concerned about the budget deficit.  I would like 
to make a suggestion about how to raise income without raising taxes. 

Limit tax returns. 

As it is right now, individuals can utilize a whole variety of tax credits that 
can enable them to get enormous refunds that far exceed the tax money that they 
actually paid in to the system. 

It could be set that no one receives a tax return that exceeds the amount that 
was actually withheld from their checks.  They would still get their money back, 
but nothing extra.  

It would be necessary to adjust the W2s so that their was a distinction between 
money paid by the individual and money paid by their employer, or better yet, 
just don't show the amount paid by the employer.  The individual should only 
receive the money back that they paid.  

This would accomplish two things: 1. less excess money would be paid out for 
credits that exceed money received, and 2. the taxes paid by the employer could 
be kept. 

Technically, no taxes are raised, but the net benefit to the government would be 
substantial. 

Thank you to whoever actually reads this email, I hope that it will at least be 
considered.  

Sincerely, 

Curtis Girod
At this time, I have received basic form letters back from two of three that I contacted.  I also, noticed my misspelling of “there” with “their”  but I did not correct it for this post, since it was not correct in my original email.  I will need to be more careful.

At any rate, I would encourage you to be more involved in the political process.  Keep an open mind, be willing to listen, not just speak, avoid harsh rhetoric, and let us see if our political climate can improve with our participation.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Raising Revenue, but not Taxes”

  1. Pastor Curt Says:

    When engaging in the exchange of ideas, we may sometimes find that we are wrong about some things. Since posting this article I have been informed by a tax accountant that employers do not match the federal income tax. That does not change the primary emphasis of this post, which is that a tax return should not exceed the amount of taxes withheld.

Leave a Reply

