The Word of God Can Change Your Life

Here are the sermon notes from October 28,2012.

I.  The Cleansing Power of the Word: Psalms 119: 9-11

How can a young man cleanse his way?
By taking heed according to Your word.
10 With my whole heart I have sought You;
Oh, let me not wander from Your commandments!
11 Your word I have hidden in my heart,
That I might not sin against You.

By the Word, and by the Spirit, we learn to recognize right from wrong.

The Word has a cleansing effect on our minds.  With all of the ungodly images, and ideas, that we are bombarded with every day it is good to have something that can cleanse our minds.

We should be wholehearted in our pursuit of a life with Christ.

II.  Open My Eyes Psalms 119:18

Open my eyes, that I may see
Wondrous things from Your law.

To truly understand the Word of God, we need the Spirit of God.

True understanding makes an impact on our lives.

True understanding is delightful.

May our eyes be open to the wonderful things that God has for us in His Word.

III.  The Two Paths Psalms 119:33-37

Teach me, O Lord, the way of Your statutes,
And I shall keep it to the end.
34 Give me understanding, and I shall keep Your law;
Indeed, I shall observe it with my whole heart.
35 Make me walk in the path of Your commandments,
For I delight in it.
36 Incline my heart to Your testimonies,
And not to covetousness.
37 Turn away my eyes from looking at worthless things,
And revive me in Your way.

There is the way of God and the way of the world.  My hope for all of you is that you will learn to follow the way of God, in which true happiness is to be found.

I am concerned, that even for people who are believers, that there is far too much covetousness.  Here in America, we live in a consumer society.  We need to guard our hearts against covetousness that seeks to permeate our thoughts.  True happiness is not found in the things that we possess.

I am also concerned about the impact that television has on our lives.  The vast majority of television programing contains parts that encourage behavior that is not Christ-like.  Yet, what is the ratio of our television time to our Bible time?  For most of us, it is not a very good comparison.

IV.  The Peace of God Psalms 119:165

Great peace have those who love Your law,
And nothing causes them to stumble.

I cannot preach from Psalms 119 without including this verse, which is one of my wife’s favorites.  The Word of God will bring peace to our lives.  That is a very good thing.   If we truly have a love for the Word of God our lives will be stable, like a house built on a rock, able to withstand the storms that come our way.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

