Come Be With Us

When I was in the Marine Corps, going through training to be a tank crewman,  at Ft. Knox, Kentucky, we had one weekend of liberty.  I remember that I went off by myself and got a hotel room.  I did a lot of thinking, a lot of praying, and a lot of listening to music on my Sony Walkman.  I also wrote a song that, strangely enough was accompanied with bongos.  I am a drummer and percussionist.  The only instrument that I had brought with me was a set of bongos.  Anyway, the song came into my mind the other day while I was out for a run and I thought that I would share the words.  You will have to use your own imagination, for the sound of the tune, rhythm and accompaniment.   It has occasionally be done in church, so some of you have heard it.

 

Holy Spirit come be with us

come and fill our hearts today.

Holy Spirit come be with us                                    ( chorus)

come and fill our lives we pray.

 

Oh Lord God above

you are the one who gives us love.

For you loved us so much

that you gave your only son,                                (verse one)

to die for us on Calvary

and wash our sins away.

Oh Lord God above

come and fill us with your love.

 

chorus

 

Oh Lord God above

you are the one who gives us joy,

and we know that we need you                             (verse two)

we need the strength that your joy brings

to face our world today

we need the strength that your joy brings.

 

chorus

 

Oh Lord God above,

in a world of trouble and pain

you give to us a peace,                                          (verse three)

a peace not of this world,

Oh Lord God above

come and fill us with your peace

 

chorus

 

Oh Lord God above

come and fill us with your love.

Oh Lord God above                                     (bridge)

come and fill us with your joy.

Oh Lord God above

come and fill us with your peace.

 

chorus

 

I remember singing this song in my hotel room and having a sense of the presence of God.  It was meaningful to me at the time, and so I thought I would share it with you today.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

