Divine Healing

I believe that God is able to heal people.  James 5:14-15 says “Is anyone among you sick?  Let him call for the elders of the church, and let them pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord.  And the prayer of faith will save the sick, and the Lord will raise him up.  And if he has committed sins, he will be forgiven. ”

Healing is also listed among the gifts of the Spirit “…to another faith by the same Spirit, to another gifts of healings by the same Spirit, (I Cor 12:9) but there is a qualification stated in verse 11 “But one and the same Spirit works all these things, distributing to each one individually as He wills.

The power of God and the will of God must somehow be reconciled in our thinking.  We recognize that God is able to bring healing, sometimes instantly through a miraculous touch, sometimes over time, and sometimes in combination with medical treatment.  (Did you know that anointing with oil was a form of medical treatment, not just a prayer format?)  Yet people do not live forever in these bodies.  Only God knows how much time we have on this earth.

I believe that the key is found with how Paul dealt with his “thorn in the flesh”.  II Cor 12:7-9 says  “And lest I should be exalted above measure by the abundance of the revelations, a thorn in the flesh was given to me, a messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I be exalted above measure.  Concerning this thing.  I pleaded with the Lord three times that it might depart from me.  And He said to me.  ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.’  Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”

God’s grace is sufficient for us.  God may bring the gift of healing to our lives, or He will give us the grace to deal with our own “thorn in the flesh”.  Either way, our lives can be a testimony of the grace of God, either by healing , or by how we deal with the afflictions of this life.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

