Work Harder?

My life is packed with things that are waiting to be done.  One problem is finding the time to do everything.  Everything?  Who am I kidding?  I am not ever going to get everything done.  I will have to settle for getting the important things done.  Hopefully, I am able to recognize what is important.  I often pray that God will help me to prioritize.  That I will know what is truly important.

The second problem is finding motivation.  When there is so much stuff waiting to be done, it can be overwhelming.  This is where a daily routine and a list can really be helpful.  Instead of looking at the entire list, which is overwhelming,  you simply start with the first thing on the list, and then move on to the next thing, and so on.  One thing at a time, task by task, you work your way through the day.  It is surprising how much you can get done when you are able to stay focused, moving from task to task.

The third problem is balance.  We are not meant to simply work.  I remember the character Boxer  from the book Animal Farm .  His motto was “I will work harder.”  I sometimes think that my life has been motivated by that motto.  That is not a good thing.  There is more to life than work.  Although there is always more to do, not everything has to be done, at least not today.

That brings us back to priorities.  May God help us to use our time wisely, to live as He would have us live.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

