Mid-life

The other day I helped a friend with some roofing work.  I was only out on the roof for a few hours, but I discovered that although I am in good shape for my age,  I am not as young as I once was, and those few hours wore me out.

My wife and I are looking around the house trying to figure out what we should get rid of next.  We used to look around stores dreaming about what we would next purchase.

When I try to lose a few pounds, it is far more difficult than it used to be, and they come back on in a blink of an eye.

I find myself thinking about retirement.  I realize that I am far closer to retirement than to the beginning of my work history.

I look forward to grandchildren, but will let grandma change any dirty diapers.

I realize that some dreams might not come true.

I continue to rethink the possibilities that the future holds.

God is not finished with me yet.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

