24 Hour Run

Well, I did it.  I have signed up for a 24 hour run.  This does not mean that I have to run for 24 hours, but that I will have 24 hours to complete as many laps as possible on a 400 meter track.  This will be done by a combination of running and walking.  (Actually, they permit crawling as well, but I hope it doesn’t come to that!)  A friend of mine from church has participated in this event for 22 consecutive years.  It’s his fault!  Actually, this past winter I was on a 10 mile run on an inside track when the idea of participating came into my mind and wouldn’t go away.

I just want to give it a try.

I am also going to use it as a fundraiser for the Chi Alpha group that I work with at the college.  I will seek people who will sponsor me per mile completed.  My goal is 100 kilometers, which is about 62 miles.   I have upped my weekly mileage, bought some new shoes, and am looking forward to the experience.

I’m actually kind of excited about it.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “24 Hour Run”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    So when is it? count me in

Leave a Reply

