Enthusiasm

We have a dog, actually, it is my son’s dog.   It is about one year old, a mixture of Black Lab,  German Shepard, and Siberian Huskie.  Her name is Jasmine.  Jasmine came to live with us a few months ago.  She is still very much an overgrown puppy.  She lives outdoors in a ten by ten kennel with an attached doghouse.  She is allowed to come inside for visits, which she enjoys, but it is clear that the highlight of her day is when she goes for a walk.  She is not very well-trained.  Actually, I think that when she has the leash put on her, she thinks that is a dog sled trace and her duty is to pull the sled along.  It not an exercise for the frail or faint of heart.

The point of all this is that I am amazed at her enthusiasm for those walks.  She bounces around, trying to take in every sight and smell, while still going as fast as I will allow her to go.  She is obviously enjoying the experience with every fiber of her being.

I admire her enthusiasm.

I wish that I had the ability to enjoy the simple things of life half as much as that dumb dog.  Maybe she’s not so dumb after all.  Maybe I could learn something from her about enthusiasm and enjoying life.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Enthusiasm”

  1. Steve Young Says:

    I know what you mean. As a breeder, I often found myself having to “train” new owners. We’ll often look at an animal and say “what a dumb dog”,not realizing that they’re really a very smart dog-just a dumb human!

    • Pastor Curt Says:

      I have been a dog owner most of my life. All I really expect out of them is not to bite the company, chew on my things, or use my house as a bathroom. I usually get grown dogs that someone else has trained. Jasmine is more pup than I would normally choose.

  2. Russell Kinney Says:

    Nice post… maybe you should try a leash and crawling on all fours? She seems to really like it.
    Take care my friend… it was good to spend time with you last week.
    Russell

Leave a Reply

