Be Careful Who You Follow

Yesterday as I was running out in the country a large dog came running up to me.  The dog appeared friendly, just an overgrown pup, much like our dog at home.  As I continued to run, I extended my hand down by my side so that the dog could get my smell.  The dog smelled my fingers, then licked them, then put her mouth on them.  So here I am, fingers all slobbered up, digits still inside the dog’s mouth, still running down the gravel road.   The dog decided that I was ok and went to running down the road ahead of me.  When I reached my turn-around point, he turned with me and ran back towards his house.  As I passed by the dog’s house I hoped that the dog would be tired of this adventure and return home.

Nope.

The dog continued to run with me for about two miles down the gravel road.  As I approached a highway that I was going to run down I became concerned for the dog, not that he couldn’t find his way back, but because of the heavier traffic on the road ahead.  I tried yelling at him to go home, but he just ran faster away from me in the direction of the highway.  He wandered off to check out a pond, but came after me as I passed.  Eventually, I stopped and walked back in the direction of the dog’s house.  The dog turned around and again ran past me, into the lead position in our new direction.  As we passed an implement dealer, I ducked into the parking area and got behind some equipment.  The dog did not notice at first, and did not come back.  I assume that he returned to his home.   I was able to continue after that without the dog running with me.

The dog might have been all right on the side of the highway, but I would have felt bad if it had been hit by a car.  It’s not my dog, but I felt a bit of responsibility because it was following me.  (Actually, he stayed ahead of me.)

We should be careful who we follow.  We might, unwittingly,  find ourselves in dangerous places.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Be Careful Who You Follow”

  1. notjeffery Says:

    Inspiring and true.
    I like the story that you tell in order to get to your message.

    Thanks for sharing,
    Peace to you,

  2. Hap'n Joy's Blog Says:

    A great parable!

Leave a Reply

