1st Day

Today is the first day for the classes that I teach at the college.  The start of a new semester brings with it a variety of feelings.  I did not get as much done over the summer break as I would have liked to get done.  So there is the vague sense of disappointment that there was more work to do, and more fun things to do,  that just didn’t get done.  There is the sense of weight that comes with the addition of weekly responsibilities that need to be squeezed into an already full schedule.  There is also a sense of hope and anticipation.  You see, I still enjoy teaching.  Even though I have been teaching the same courses, and the same basic material for years, every semester is different.  Each class is composed of a unique combination of students so that no two classes are alike.  It makes every semester a new experience.  My classes include discussion and I learn something new every semester.  I challenge my students to think…and they challenge me to think as well.  It is a learning experience for us all.

Today is the first day.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

