Politics as Usual

The first trial of former Illinois Governor Rod Blagojevich has ended with him having been found guilty of only one of the many counts against him.

He was found guilty of lying to federal investigators.

I am afraid that I have become somewhat jaded when it comes to American politics.  As a young teenager I watched as the Watergate scandal unfolded.  I am not surprised that politicians would lie.  I have wondered if any of them would consistently  tell the truth.

He is accused of trying to “sell” the Senate seat, formerly held by President Obama.   He certainly sounds like he is trying to make a deal for it.  After all, it was “golden”.

Don’t politicians make deals all the time?  If we arrested every politician that traded their vote on an issue for something else that they wanted in return, would we have anyone in congress?

The cost of the first trial was over twenty million dollars.  Plans are underway for a retrial.  It sure seems like that money could be put to better use.

Ok, so he lied, and,  he talked privately about trying to make a deal for the senate seat.  I am sad to say that it sounds like politics as usual to me.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Politics as Usual”

  1. poetgranny Says:

    I’ve enjoyed reading some of your posts. This one upsets me. The cost of freedom is much more than twenty million dollars. How sad and scary that so many Americans are so quick to give it away to a few disgusting politicians and judges who abuse our constitutional rights smack in front of our noses.

    • Pastor Curt Says:

      Poetgranny, thank you for commenting. I am somewhat upset myself by the current state of politics in America. It is hard to know who to trust. Still, we should continue to attempt to be a part of a solution rather than simply complain about the problems. In this situation, I am not certain that the situation warrants another trial, but then, I only have the information available to me in the media. My conclusion might be different if I had all the facts.

Leave a Reply

