Lesson From A Broken Fan

When we brought the fans out of storage this past spring one of the upright fans had become broken.  It had probably been knocked over at some point and the joint where the motor attached to the post was broken.  We made an attempt at a repair and it worked…sort of.

I purchased some new fans.  It looks like it is going to be a long summer, and we try to use the air conditioning as little as possible because we prefer fresh air.  When I replaced the broken one in the kitchen, I started to bring the broken fan to the basement.  Gloria stopped me and asked me what I was doing.  I replied that I was going to keep the fan for replacement parts.  The motor and switch were still good and one of our other fans might go out.  She informed me that I was not going to keep that broken fan around, waiting for a chance to use it.  We have enough clutter as it is.  She was right.  I threw it away…with a twinge of regret over the waste.

I think that sometimes our lives are over filled with things that might be useful, but are really only adding to the clutter and the mess.  I suspect that less clutter, less stuff, less activities, might just possibly mean more.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Lesson From A Broken Fan”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    It is very useful to have someone that handles scrap metal and small motors in the area. There is a scrap metal man in my area and it sure helps. Are junk yards just for car parts or do they handle other motors as well?

  2. Gloria Says:

    YES!!
    less IS more! so about the garage?

Leave a Reply

