A Lie Often Repeated…

I remember twenty-five years ago in seminary reading an article that made the assertion that Jesus was gay.  The only support offered was that at the last supper, John was referred to as the “disciple Jesus loved” and that when they tried to apprehend John in the garden, they grabbed his garment and “he fled away naked”.

Hardly enough to support the conclusion that Jesus practiced a life-style that carried a death sentence under the Mosaic law.

Now in 2010, we have Elton John describing Jesus as a “compassionate, super-intelligent, gay man”.

In this case two out of three is very bad.

I wonder how many people will assume that since Elton John said Jesus was gay, it must be true?

How many people will believe that erroneous conclusion?

The Mosaic law was perfectly clear in its condemnation of homosexual activity.  (Leviticus 18:23 and 20:13)

It is true that Jesus never addressed the issue.  He was speaking to Jews who understood and accepted the Mosaic law.  There was no need for Jesus to address the matter.

Paul, who worked with the Greeks and Romans, (Both the Greek and Roman culture accepted homosexual activity.)  made it clear that in Christianity,  homosexual activity was still a sin.  (I Corinthians 6:9&10, I Timothy 1:8-11 and Romans 1:18-32)

Christians who accept the Bible as the Word of God must recognize that homosexual behaviour is a sin.  Jesus was without sin.  Jesus was not gay.

A lie that is often repeated may be accepted as the truth… but it is still a lie.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “A Lie Often Repeated…”

  1. Duane Moraine Says:

    Curt: I have not responded for several months. You can be accused, now, of “hate speech.” Where’s the relevant tolerance for those that claim to have been made “differently?” Have a good summer. My youngest daughter (35 yrs old) just had a baby. So, we went down for Father’s Day. All of our family was there. Seven grandchildren. Thank God my children are “straight.” Wonderful, genuine, God-given and God-designed love. Duane

    • Pastor Curt Says:

      I may be accused, but I do not believe that I am guilty of “hate speech”. I do not hate anyone. I do believe in biblical concepts of right and wrong behaviour.

      Congatulations on your newest grandchild. Thank you for commenting, and have a great summer.

  2. Duane Moraine Says:

    Curt: I do not believe that you hate anyone. No question in my mind that you love the Lord and want everyone to come to him. I have two relatives that are, or have been, involved in the homosexual lifestyle. The over-sensitivity of those so involved is simply an indication of conviction, defensiveness, and shame. Therefore, when anyone speaks about their issue the “hate speech” term is used. Evangelicals are accused of this on many issues, though.
    Life in Jesus is wonderful. And though I have often come across as extremely conservative, I love people. Everyone. Duane

  3. vm7488 Says:

    “A lie that is often repeated may be accepted as the truth… but it is still a lie.”

    One of the greatest lies of all time was religion. Christianity, Islam, etc.

    So much of these lies have been told time and time again, a lot of people considered it as truth.

    • Pastor Curt Says:

      vm7488, I am sorry that you feel that Christianity is a lie.. I know that my faith has been the foundation for my life. It has provided stability, strength, joy, love, and much more. I also know that many people have been hurt by their encounters with religion, or religious people. It is not supposed to be that way. By the way, God loves you, and cares about you, even if you don’t believe in him at this time.

Leave a Reply

