React!

Sometimes we choose to act.

Sometimes we simply react.

I have found that some of my more regrettable actions have come about, not as a result of a poor choice, but rather as an impulsive action taken without premeditation.  Sometimes, I have immediately recognized my error, but it is too late, the action is done, or the words have been said.

How do you prevent impulsive words or actions?

You can’t…not always.

So instead we  try to train ourselves by repetition to say and do the right thing.  As often as possible, to think before we speak or act.  This will create a habit of doing the right thing and, hopefully, will keep us out of trouble.

In addition, and even more importantly, we can seek to maintain a relationship with God which will allow us to remain filled with the Holy Spirit, so that our reactions are not caused by the “flesh”, but by the Spirit.  If we are Spirit-led, we will do the right thing, even in reaction to unforeseen circumstances.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “React!”

  1. mitzirudderow Says:

    I am a firm believer in beginning my day with God in prayer and a daily devotional. I surrender the day to Him and ask that he author my words and thoughts. This exercise can help us avoid those regrettable actions that can so often get us into trouble. When I don’t begin my day with God, I feel it!

Leave a Reply

