Self Expression or Self Preservation

The other day I was riding my motorcycle to class.  I saw a truck at an intersection ahead of me.  I was on the inside lane of a four lane road, so I was not too concerned when he pulled out just a little bit ahead of me.

Then he continued on into my lane.

He never saw me.

Thankfully, I had been watching him and was already easing off the gas.  I hit the brakes and easily avoided a collision.

Then, I thought about the horn.  Some people might have thought about the horn first.  I prefer to focus on avoiding an accident.  Actually, I ended up waving at him.  Hopefully he saw me, but he probably never even knew I was  there on the road.

Over the years of riding, similar events have happened numerous times.  It is always better to avoid a collision first.  That should be your focus.  Secondly, you will want to think twice about how you express yourself.  You are still on a motorcycle, and that makes you vulnerable.  If you tick off the driver by your expression of anger, there is the possibility of retribution.  Ever hear of road rage?   In a bike versus car collision, the bike will never win. 

I prefer self-preservation over self-expression.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Self Expression or Self Preservation”

  1. Gloria Says:

    some people do think they own the road!

Leave a Reply

