Who’s to Judge?

I believe…

Whatever I believe to be true is an expression of my own judgement.  I accumulate information, determine it’s credibility, interpret and apply what I have judged to be worthy of inclusion.

I believe in God.

I have been told that He exists.  I have accepted it as true.  I have thought about it, evaluated the information and come to the conclusion that I believe that God exists. 

I am passing judgement on the existence of God.

I read the Bible. 

I have accepted that the Bible is the Word of God.  I have been told that it is the Word of God.  I have thought about it, examined the claims, and judged that it is the Word of God.  Even after that acceptance, I must read it, interpret it, and apply it to my life. 

I am exercising judgement on the Word of God.

Isn’t this backwards???

If God exists, then ultimately, He will judge me. 

If the Bible is God’s Word, then my life will be judged by what that book contains.  

Who is to Judge?

Whose judgement will be final???

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Who’s to Judge?”

  1. kclick Says:

    Interesting … but it can become a vicious circle. In effect aren’t you just judging your judgment again?
    God has given us free will for a reason. Part of free will is making judgments (decisions) for ourselves, is it not?

Leave a Reply

