Success and Failure

It was time again yesterday for my long run.  Every two weeks I try to go for a run that lasts for over an hour.  I am working my way slowly to the ten-mile mark.  Two weeks ago I blogged about how I had been inspired to lose weight to make the run a little easier.  I dropped five pounds in the first few days and was feeling pretty good about my efforts.

Then I gained back seven. 

That’s right.  Yesterday when  I was going to go for my long run, I was actually heavier than two weeks ago.  It started so well.  I was motivated. I lost weight.  I was enjoying the sweet headiness of successful dieting.

Then I failed.  Never mind the details.  I could give a list of reasons and excuses, but it wouldn’t matter.  The scale does not lie. 

Apparently neither success or failure are permanent, at least when it comes to dieting.

On another successful note, I ran outside for the first time in months.  It was wonderful.  I felt great.  The added weight around my waist, and the added weight of extra clothing did not hinder my running experience.  It was an exhilarating run!  The gravel shoulder was soft, the air was cool and damp, the countryside was in transition from winter to spring.  definitely a successful run.

So again, both success and failure, depend on what we are focusing on, and neither one is permanent.

This is true not only in diet and exercise, but in life.  Only when we quit trying do we truly fail.  We might fail in some ways, but succeed in others.

Life is good.  We can be successful, at least in some ways and at some times.  We win some, we lose some.   Failure isn’t permanent, so don’t quit.  Live your life.  We can all win, if we are able to enjoy the journey.

By the way,  my weight was down four pounds this morning from yesterday’s weight.  Sweet success!!  At least for now.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

