Disengaged

The other night, Gloria was off at a ladies meeting, and I choose to do…nothing.

Well, actually, I sat quietly and let myself relax.  I thought about stuff.  I prayed about some things.  I had lots of work that I could do.  There were plenty of activities that could have occupied my time, but I just did…nothing. 

As a general rule my life is very, very busy.  I have more things to do than I can ever get done, so I try to prioritize and do what is most important according to my time and energy levels.  Normally, if I am not working on something, I am involved in recreational pursuits, or what I call active rest.  Active rest includes things like television, reading, listening to music, using the internet, and so forth.  These activities are relaxing, but not necessarily restful, and certainly not the same as quiet reflection.

Taking time to disengage gives one the opportunity to both relax and think.  Our busy lives do not seem to allow much time for casual reflection.  I know that it is a rare thing for me.  Perhaps it would do us some good to slow our lives down occasionally; to stop and smell the roses, and maybe even think about how good they smell.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Disengaged”

  1. Christy Says:

    You’re right. It’s hard to make time for quiet relaxation.

  2. JaCi Waldorf Says:

    It is difficult for me also to have quiet time. I’m always listening to music or reading a book, which a lot of people can’t bring themselves to do let alone have quiet reflection time. I tend to do a lot of thinking before bed, which is quiet time but it also cuts into my sleeping time. That can be a problem.

Leave a Reply

