Sherlock Holmes

Last night we went to see the movie “Sherlock  Holmes” in our local theatre.  I had not heard very much about it, except that I had heard one report that it was good.

As it turns out, it was quite unexpected.

Sherlock Holmes is portrayed as being on the edge of sanity, actually, past the edge.  Dr. Watson is a strong, stable companion who helps Holmes cope with reality.  They are both far more physically violent than I had expected.  This is not a story for children. 

The most surprising twist to me was that their primary adversary was an individual who was believed to be a practitioner of black magic. 

I normally do not watch movies with themes centering around the use of magic, certainly not black magic.  I do not take such things lightly.  In fact, I gave serious thought to leaving the movie, when I realized how much of a role the occult played.

In the end the bad guy is defeated, Holmes demonstrates how the various effects, that had appeared to be supernatural, were actually based in little-known facts about the material realm.

That is part of the problem.  Everything boiled down to a physical explanation.  There is no validity given to the possibility of any  reality beyond the material.  Another problem is that the church was portrayed as fearful and ineffective.  So you are left with the sense that both religion and magic, plays on the fears of the ignorant.

On a good note, there is a line where the main adversary is told that he is playing with powers that he cannot control.  There is a hint of ominous, evil presence in the black raven that appears each time one of the leaders in the magical community is killed.  Perhaps people should not trifle with evil powers. 

I can agree with that sentiment.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Sherlock Holmes”

  1. JaCi Waldorf Says:

    Entertainment is full of things that are dangerous to take in. I believe there is a lot of mind control techniques that are inplemented in some of it. I remember getting up and leaving one movie called “The Hills Have Eyes”. Growing up, I always liked “scary” movies. I liked the suspense and thrill. But these days, scary movies are not the same, especially the one I mentioned. I was in tears and wanted to vomit, to me that is not entertaining, so I left. However, I do like to expose myself to some things that may be different than what I believe in, simply for educating myself on how other people view the world. I find all the different views fascinating. I do want to see the Sherlock Holmes movie. I, too, heard it was good. But “good” clearly means different things to different people.

    • Pastor Curt Says:

      JaCi, thanks for your comment. I hope that I did not disclose too much information about the movie, since you want to see it. It is interesting how our taste in movies evolves over time. The movie certainly had some good parts, it was the underlying messages that bothered me.

  2. Cherie Bell Says:

    I saw Avatar a couple of weeks ago. Like SH for you, I give it mixed reviews. The special effects and context were interesting, it was the subtext that I had a few issues w/. To quote my son: “It’s no Lord of the Rings…”

    That said…I think it’s good when I occasionally see movies that I’m not really that interested in. It lets me join the discussion in a legitimate way…otherwise I’m in the dark when everyone’s buzzing…and I can’t put my 2 cents in…which, of course, as we all know, is just NOT acceptable. 🙂

    • Pastor Curt Says:

      Cherie, your thoughts are worth at least a nickle.lol.. I haven’t seen Avatar yet, I am waiting for it to come to the Imax at the Putnam. Christopher thought it was great.

  3. JaCi Waldorf Says:

    I recently talked to my best friend in San Francisco. We spent a good half hour talking about Avatar. I haven’t seen it yet and he just couldn’t believe that I haven’t seen it. He is a film fanatic (could probably make a living being a film critic if he wanted) and said it absolutely blew him away. From the previews, it didn’t strike me as something that I would particularly like or dislike. But by the way he talked about it, I really want to see it. Word of mouth really is the best advertisement. And it is, afterall, the biggest box office movie of all time or something like that. Oh and he also said everyone must see it in 3D if possible. I tend to wait until films come out to rent to save money, but sounds like it would be a good idea to see it at the Imax.

  4. Cherie Bell Says:

    Definitely 3D.

    Subtext aside, what is really thought provoking to me is how animators/CGI’ers are now able to blur the line between reality and computer graphics.

    It makes me wonder how much longer we will be able to maintain even a marginal degree of trust that what we see on television news or any other supposed “fact-based” broadcast is accurate.

    W/”creative” content editing, it’s already pretty hard to know what someone really means when they make a remark in an interview or speech. But imagine the challenge when we can’t distinguish between a real invasion or natural catastrophe from something created with CGI.

Leave a Reply

