It’s All About The Heart

Yesterday, I was running mindlessly in circles at our local gym. There are fourteen laps to the mile.  Every other week I go for a long run.  I am trying to work up to ten miles.  I am currently running a little over eight.  That means yesterday I ran 117 laps. 

It gets a little tiring.

And a little boring. 

As I was running in circles I again reminded myself that it was for my heart.  There is a history of heart disease in my family and I would like to live to a ripe old age, should Jesus tarry.  So I diet, and exercise and run.

As I was running I thought again about how much difference “heart” makes in an athlete.  I had watched the last two games of the football season and it was obvious that the men playing those games had a lot of heart. 

I also thought about how God is concerned about our hearts.  He knows everything about us, and still loves us.  He wants to heal the broken-hearted.  He sees our hearts, and if we turn to Him in repentance and faith, he will forgive our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.  Indeed, He will even send His Holy Spirit to dwell in our hearts, through our faith in Jesus. 

Thats more important than exercise, or a game.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “It’s All About The Heart”

  1. Gloria Says:

    you certainly have a lot of thinking time and some zoning out time while you run around and around that circle.

Leave a Reply

