Spiritual Diet

You do not lose weight by indulging the appetite!

This is the thought that occurred to me recently.  My wife and I are both dieting.  We were checking out at a gas station and there were some really good-looking sweet rolls on the counter.  I have a weakness for sweets.  I really wanted one, but the line mentioned above came to me and I was able to resist because I do want to lose weight.

I sometimes think that some Christians are on a spiritual diet.

In order to grow as believers in Christ there are three basic components.  They are good helpings of scripture, prayer and fellowship.  Now these things are available in individual servings, but they are best enjoyed family style… that means in church, in case you are missing my point.  Yet many Christians place church attendance very low in their set of priorities.  I have personally attended services every time the doors were open since I was a teenager.  I greatly value my time at church, and that was true for years before I became a pastor.  I firmly believe that it contributes greatly to spiritual growth, and also helps in the smooth operations of daily life.

Some Christians seem to be on a starvation diet.

How often have you attended church in the last month?

Are you losing the wrong type of weight?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Spiritual Diet”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    I recently went through a four week period where I didn’t go to church. I had to think and pray a bit before I understood I was acting out of rebellion against “Sunday morning only relationships”. I went back to Sunday worship and started contacting daily someone from my church. You see I had been going there 3 years and did not have any regular involvement with anyone that did not exist before joining that body of believers, which is the church.

    • Pastor Curt Says:

      I am glad to hear that you are attending again. It is easy to get out of the habit. I am also very glad to hear that you are intentionally reaching out to connect with those in the church. It doesn’t happen by accident.

  2. Travis Gluesing Says:

    I absolutley love this article ! I my-self got away from the church for a while because in my area there were not many options open and now I have been regularly attending for about three weeks straight and it does make me feel good and give me some hope. I think that is amazing how spirituality has played a big part in your life and even though we have different beliefs I think it does come in handy when times get tough. This is truly a very good blog.

  3. Gloria Says:

    I love your connection between individual servings and family style. I love it when I go to a resturant and they are serving family style! I also love gathering together at church. It is family.

Leave a Reply

