Car Trouble

I drive old vehicles.

I don’t mean classic, restored, or vintage…just old, with pretty high mileage.  Our van is a 1995 with 173,000 miles.  I hope to get at least another 50,000. 

This past weekend, I was returning from dropping off the deer at the processors when I lost power steering, and an assortment of lights came on, on the dash.  The van was still running so I pulled off to the shoulder and called a friend who is far more mechanically inclined than I, and he suspected that I had broken my serpentine belt.  It was very cold outside and I was not far from home so I prayed, and drove home and into the garage. 

I was supposed bring my son and his fiance back to Minnesota the next day.  A couple of men from my church offered to repair the van during the second service so that we could still leave on schedule.

It turned out that the water pump had also failed, but they were able to make the repairs and we were on our way on schedule.

About an hour into the journey we stopped for gas…and the van would not start.   This time, the starter was the problem.  We called AAA to get the van, and a friend to come get us, and we went back home.  A local shop replaced the starter and we were back on the road before noon.  This time the trip was without mishap.

I drive old cars.  I anticipate problems by having a AAA membership, and by having money set aside in the budget for repairs.  Even more important, I trust that God will watch over us.   Christian friends helped in time of need, and when problems occurred, we either made it home, or had a warm place to wait. 

Even in times of trouble, God is good.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Car Trouble”

  1. jacileigh Says:

    “God is good, all the time!”

    PS. You inspired me to start my own blog on here. It is jacileigh.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

