Successful Hunt

I am not an avid hunter, but I do like to hunt deer.  It is very exciting to see the deer in the woods when you hunt.  I am not that quiet in the woods, and my reflexes are not that quick, so I have resorted to hunting from tree stands.  I use a muzzle loader, not a bow, because I want to have greater range than a bow affords.  I hunt during the second season because I am on break from the college, and it lasts for three weeks, so I am more likely to be successful, because I will most likely have more opportunities to go out.

It is a common experience for me to go out, and see nothing.  I also, occasionally see deer, but do not have a shot.  (I don’t take shots that I don’t feel pretty good about making.)  There have been many seasons that I did not get a deer.

Not this season.

On my second outing of this year, I had an opportunity to hunt at a new location.  I was not able to go out to my usual spot, because of weather and time conditions, so I asked a friend from church about hunting at his place.  He was not planning on going out that night and agree to let me hunt from one of his stands. 

I arrived at about 2:00, got my gear together, and he led me on a five-minute or so hike through the woods, to a stand between a pond and a fence-line.  As he walked off, I settled in to wait.  I did not have to wait long.  within thirty minutes a doe appeared from my left, coming down the fence-line toward me.  There were two fawns following her.  I must admit that I did have a twinge of conscience over shooting Bambi’s mother, but it was quickly suppressed by the thought of venison steak.  As it turns out, while I was waiting for a good shot on the doe, a medium-sized buck came into view after the fawns.  I immediately focused entirely on him, waited for him to come into a good range, with a clear shot, and fired. 

He ran off down the trail, jumped the fence and died just a few feet off the trail that I had followed coming into the stand.  When I got to where he lay in the snow, I looked at my watch.  It was only 3:00. 

I wonder if I can hunt there again next year?

Tags: , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Successful Hunt”

  1. rose Says:

    Curt, I am very glad you didn’t shoot Bambi’s Mom.

  2. JaCi Waldorf Says:

    LOL! I love hearing people argue about hunting. It really is one of those arguments that could go on forever, as there is relevant and logical reasoning on both sides. Personally, I couldn’t kill Bambi’s mom. But I have no problem stomping on a spider without thinking twice. I wonder why this is? Is it because deer are more aesthetically pleasing to the eye? Do they serve more purpose in my mind than spiders? I don’t know. But if I keep going, this could turn into a Philosophy class discussion!

    • Pastor Curt Says:

      I wasn’t sure when I wrote this if I would get someone berating me for hunting or not. I guess not…not yet anyway.

      Perhaps the willingness to crush the spider comes from a fear of the spider? or repulsion? Perhaps it’s size makes it seem insignificant? Maybe the lack of red blood?

  3. jacileigh Says:

    All good points! Now that I think of it, when I was a kid my mom always made me kill spiders (as SHE is deathly afraid of them). Maybe that’s what it is, a learned response that has become innate to me. My mother turned me into a spider-killing-robot! 🙂

    Speaking of Philosophy, I am braving your Logic class this coming semester. See you next week!

    • Pastor Curt Says:

      That’s right , blame your mom for your spider killing habit. lol

      The logic class is quite different from the philosophy course, but I am sure that you will do well.

  4. grandmonadnockstore Says:

    Bambi will be fine, shooting a doe is good qdm at their current age the “fawns” are perfectly capable of “caring” for themselves. As far as being quiet, you do not have to be…watch deer the next chance you get…they are very slow for the most part. Walk slowly, pause, walk slow, pause, etc. I also use a “True Talker” deer call when stalking. I find it useful when conditions are very dry, take a few steps, stop, blow grunt call a few times, or blow on the grunt call (not too loud) on every other step, try to sound like a deer walking. Most deer I have shot have been under 40 yards. Good Luck, Enjoy!!

    • Pastor Curt Says:

      I have tried the stalking method, but as I stated earlier, it doesn’t work for me. The deer see me before I see them and away they go. I am not a skilled enough shooter to try a running shot. I do not want to injure the deer. I want to kill them, preferably quickly.

  5. grandmonadnockstore Says:

    Pastor Curt,

    It does not work for ANYONE initially, practice and patience, slow is the key. Deer do not key in on slow movements, try stalking in the off season with a camera, you might just surprise yourself!

    • Pastor Curt Says:

      Normally, I go out for either a morning, or an evening stand. If I was going to hunt for an entire day I would probably then try stalking through the mid-day hours.

Leave a Reply

