Conflicted Pack Rat

I am conflicted.

I am a pack rat by nature, or perhaps by training, or maybe a little of both.  My father kept all kinds of supplies in his garage and whenever he was working on a project he could go to an area, rifle around a little bit, and come up with whatever it was that was needed, or something that would work as well.  I was impressed by his creativity and ingenuity.  His garage was filled with all kinds of stuff and I spent many hours working with him on various tasks. 

I also think of myself as frugal.  I do not like to get rid of things that may still be useful.  I tend to hold onto things that I think may come in handy someday.  After all, I wouldn’t want to have to buy something today, that I just threw out last week.

I also like simplicity and order.   I like it when everything has a place, and everything is in its place.   Less can be more.  I sometimes think that I should greatly reduce the things that I have,  so that my life would be less incumbered by possessions.  How much stuff do I really need?  

I am conflicted.

The battle continues…but I think the pack rat is winning… at least in the garage and basement.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Conflicted Pack Rat”

  1. Brent Says:

    So true, perhaps we should have a garage cleaning/organizing competition this spring. And see which side of the conflict wins!

  2. Gloria Says:

    Hey I really really like that idea!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

