Peace Lily

I have a peace lily at my church office.  It is a very large one that was a memorial at my father’s funeral.  It is doing very well, which is unusual for me, because I have not had the best luck with houseplants over the years.  This plant has been the exception.  It had so many blossoms this past spring and summer that I stopped counting. 

It sits in a south window and needs lots of water.  This past Sunday, I opened my office door and it was seriously drooping.  I had not watered it for two days.  That was all it took for it to go from looking great, to looking sad. 

A few cups of water, and by that evening, it was looking much better.

How often do our lives resemble my peace lily?  Flourishing for a while, but wilted and close to death in short order? 

I recommend plenty of water; living water that is.

Our daily devotional time is very important if we expect our lives to flourish.  The time that we spend in the Word and in prayer, will sustain us through the heat of the day.  Without we will quickly wilt.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Peace Lily”

  1. Kim Enfield Says:

    This is great Curt! How true it is.

  2. Amaryllis rebloom Says:

    I am amazed at what you have done here. It is charming to see you verbalise from the heart and your lucidity on this essential subject can be easily verified. Tremendous post and will look forward to your future update.

  3. Pastor Curt Says:

    Thank you, come visit the site again.

Leave a Reply

