Stuff!!

“The key to accumulating wealth is to live well within your means.”  I read this quote in a newspaper a long time ago. (Sorry, I can’t remember who said it.)  

I have not managed to accumulate much wealth, but I have succeeded in living within my means, and I have accumulated a lot of stuff. (Does that count? Even if it’s not worth much?)

Too much stuff…

“Sometimes the things we posses begins to possess us.”   (I think I read that somewhere.)

What happens when a pack rack lives in a consumer society?  You accumulate stuff… a lot of stuff.  (Don’t get rid of that, I might need it someday.  It could be used for…)

Ugh!!

The thought of my basement or my garage makes me cringe.  (I once heard that however big your house or garage, your stuff will increase until it is full.)

Somedays I just want to sell everything and start over.

Can you have an estate sale while you are still alive?

Anyway, I suppose what I am trying to say, (That is, if I am trying to say anything.)  is that it is not in our possesions that we find true wealth.  It is important to live within our means, to be thankful for what we have, to be good stewards of our time, money and possesions, to enjoy the life that we have in this world; but our true happiness comes from our relationships.  Our relationship, first of all, with God; then our family, and our friends.  If we are rich in our relationships, then we are truly wealthy.

Don’t throw that out!!

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Stuff!!”

  1. Cherie Bell Says:

    I totally agree.

    I have a theory. The accumulation of *stuff* and reluctance to let it go can have its roots in fear. Fear pf losing the past (memorabalia). Fear of poverty. Fear that we won’t have the resources to buy something we need when the time comes. It seems to be a thread through those “horder” stories.

    There’s also not having our clutter organized so we can’t find something we have when we need it…I don’t know HOW many little drill bit sets we have…so we have to buy another one (that’s totally Tom, NEVER me 🙂 )

    And…for some, there’s an element of shame (first pride THEN shame) at buying unneeded things that were deals “too good to pass up.” Buying on price rather than utility. We think, HEY, I got a GREAT deal on that! Later, when we’re honest w/ourselves, we admit that we have no real use for it or even a good place to put it.

    That’s why I try to AVOID garage sales whenever possible. They are like heroin for me.

    I’ve been giving this some thought as we think about bringing those last (not few) items from our Lowden basement. I told Tom the other day that if we haven’t used it for a year, then we don’t need it. He just rolled his eyes.

    • Pastor Curt Says:

      I have never thought about it as fear, but perhaps the fear that as soon as I get rid of it, I am going to wish that I had it. I suppose that could be a form of fear.

  2. Gloria Says:

    decluttering is freeing!! wait is that a word??

Leave a Reply

