Try-athlon

For over thirty-five years I have exercised regularly using a variety of forms of exercise.  I believe that it is important to maintaining health and managing stress. In addition it helps enhance quality of life issues.  I am able to participate in a wide variety of activities which I enjoy.  I am not so much a competitor, but a participant.

My latest venture has been simply a change in my training.  I have long incorporated running, swimming, and more recently, biking, in my exercise routine.  My town sponsors a triathlon, so I thought it might be fun to give it a try.  First, I thought that I would see how it would go if I combined the three activities in a single workout.  The first try was: swim for twenty minutes, bike for twenty minutes, and then run for two miles on the indoor (cushioned )  track.  That went so well that a few days later, I tried: thirty minutes swimming, thirty minutes biking, and thirty minutes running (a little over three miles ) outside .  I hadn’t run outside for years.

I was amazed at how good it felt!!  Swimming, no problem!  Biking, no problem!  Running….well, that was a switch!!!  The transition from biking to running was rather strange.  My legs felt all wobbly for about the first five minutes.  After that, I noticed that running outside involved hills!!!  It was difficult, but it felt really, really good.

This morning I was expecting to be stiff and sore with possibly pain in my knees,  back or hips. 

I feel great!!!

It turns out that I won’t be able to participate in the local triathlon this year because of a schedule conflict, but I think that I will incorporate this training into my regular routine. Next year I will be fifty and that sounds like a good age to participate in my first official triathlon. 

We’ll see what the next year brings.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Try-athlon”

  1. Gloria Says:

    you can do it!!!!

Leave a Reply

