Church Camp Counselor

Over the years I have had the opportunity many times to go with the young people of my church to the district campgrounds for a week of camp.  I serve as a counselor to a cabin filled with boys from my church, and also from other churches.   For the last couple of years, I have been in “retirement” as my sons were old enough, and willing, and able, to serve in my place.  This year, their schedules did not allow them to be counselors, so I was called out of retirement to serve once again at summer camp.

It’s actually a lot of fun.  I have a tendency to forget my age and have a good time with the young people.  This years camp was extremely large in the number of campers; and some changes were made in speakers,  schedule,  equipment, and meals. 

It was a good camp.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Church Camp Counselor”

  1. Gloria Says:

    This time you didn’t come home stiff and sore. So either you remembered your age or you didn’t quite act like a 20 something. LOL
    We have the best church camp around!!!!!!

  2. Gloria Says:

    Oh and one more thing — at least you weren’t the oldest guy there. hehehe

  3. Pastor Curt Says:

    Gloria,

    There weren’t as many opportunities for the counselors to participate in the athletic competitions because of the large number of campers:)

    There were several counselors older than myself.

Leave a Reply

