a little help…

A little help please…

I have a trailer that I park in an area that I cannot quite get it into with the vehicle.  Then, there is a small hill that makes it impossible for me to get the trailer positioned right without a little help.  My son, or my neighbor are usually the ones asked for a little help with this task. 

I have occasionally been stuck in snowdrifts.  Have you ever tried to push a vehicle out of a drift by yourself?  It takes a little help, and the more help the better. 

I am looking for a canopy for my camper.  They come with brackets and are about twenty feet long.  Clearly, one person is not going to carry one of these by themselves.  I will need a little help.

These are just a few examples of times when we need a little help with something that we are trying to accomplish.   We all recognize our physical limitations.  I consider myself to be reasonably independent, but there are things that I cannot do by myself.  It is not just physical activities.  Sometimes the problem is that I don’t have the right knowledge. Sometimes the job requires connections.  Sometimes we need someone to bounce ideas off.  The list can go on and on.  There are many tasks, and many reasons why we might need a little help.  

The point is…don’t be afraid to ask for help.  If we only do those things that we can do by ourselves, we severely limit what we will accomplish in life. 

Furthermore,  it is good to work together.  There is a comaraderie in a shared task, even if it is simply stopping for a moment to help push a stranger’s car out of a snowbank. 

Knowing when you need help is not a sign of weakness, it is a sign of honesty and recognizing our limitations.  Refusing to ask for help, when help is needed; is simply pride, stubborness, and foolishness.  As long as we are willing to give help, as well as receive help, it is a good thing.

Clint Eastwood in one of his movies said ” A man’s got to know his limitations.”

The Beatles sang a song in the sixties with this line, “I’ll get by with a little help from my friends.” 

I believe those thoughts belong together.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “a little help…”

  1. slamdunk Says:

    Good post to begin my day–thanks.

  2. Gloria Says:

    It says a lot about a person if they are unwilling to help.

  3. Pastor Curt Says:

    Slamdunk, thank you for your comment, hope your day went well.

    Gloria, the attitude with which they help also makes a difference.

Leave a Reply

