Showtime!

Many years ago a pastor told me that he felt that we basically were in sales.  I did not like the comparison then, and I still don’t like it now.  Jesus is not a product available for purchase. 

I have also known my share of pastors who have treated ministry as if it were a career in acting.  They were always careful to keep their “pastor’s image” bright and shiny and on display; at least in public.  I like this approach to ministry even less than the salesman approach.

I have been the pastor at my church now for eighteen years, and was involved in various other aspects of ministry for a few years before that, and yet I have blogged very little about ministry or being a pastor. 

I remember way back in January of 1991 when were were trying out at the church.  I stood and looked in the mirror before going to Sunday School.  I smiled at the reflection and thought “showtime”.  I thought that ironically, because I felt a little like I was being placed on display, perhaps even for “purchase”.  Ugh!!

Then I believe that the Holy Spirit spoke to my heart, “Show them Jesus.  Let them see Jesus in you.”

Showtime took on a different meaning.  It is my desire to show people Jesus.  It is my desire to show people the way to draw closer to him.  It is my desire to show people the difference that Christ makes in my life, and can make in theirs.  I am not perfect, and do not pretend to be.  My congregation sees the real me, which is not always pretty, but I hope and pray that they also see the light of Christ shining through this somewhat cracked, imperfect vessel.

It’s showtime, all the time.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Showtime!”

  1. Dave Says:

    Ah, the search for truth. I hope others have the courage to take a similar approach. No matter what we believe, we should be honest with ourselves and others…sounds like you sought that honest truth as a child and found what you were looking for. =)

  2. Pastor Curt Says:

    Dave,
    Yes, as a child I found the truth in Jesus; who is the way, the truth and the life. On the foundation of my faith in Christ, I continue to pursue a greater understanding of the truth. The way has not always been either clear or easy, but it has been worthwhile.

  3. Gloria Says:

    if people look at our lives and don’t see something they want then why would we think they would listen to us about Jesus? It is showtime, I prefer ‘show and tell’ myself. It must be the kid in me. I want to “show” them by how I live and handle life, but then also be ready to “tell” them why.

  4. Pastor Curt Says:

    Gloria, that is a good point. We do need to tell people what makes the difference in our lives.

Leave a Reply

