Defying Definition

People want to understand God. Sometimes people will use their lack of understanding as a reason not to believe in the existence of God.  I think that a part of the nature of God is the unfathomable.  After all, God is infinite.  We are finite.  How can the infinite be understood by the finite?  If we were able to wrap God up in an assortment of theological terms like omniscience, omnipotent, omnipresent, etc.  Then there would be a limit to the nature of God.  God in a box.  A nice, neat, wordy, theological box.   It would be like building a fence around Texas.  It would take a long time, a lot of materials, and a lot of work, but it could be done eventually.

I do not believe that we can ever fully encompass God with our human understanding.  The task is unreachable, unobtainable, impossible.

We can know some things about God.  He has revealed himself to us in the world around us, in the Bible, and in the person of his son, Jesus.  We can know God by spending time in his presence.   As our lives go on, if we work at building our understanding and knowledge of God, we will grow in our grasp of the revelation of God.  We will never fully obtain complete understanding, but we can learn a lot.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Defying Definition”

  1. Gloria Says:

    How can the infinite be understood by the finite? Great question. That is the problem with many people. They think they must be able to figure God out. It needs to be within their scope of understanding. That would not be a god I would want to serve. I am certainly grateful that God is much greater than I am and beyond my comprehension. Yet little by little we grow in our understanding of who He is.

  2. Dave Says:

    Pastor C,

    Interesting topic. =)

    I know that many agnostics and even atheists differ on their “motives” for not believing in God, but from my perspective…it’s a matter of faith. I’m not an atheist because I lack the evidence of God’s existence, I simply just don’t believe he exists. I hold the absolute nature of my position based on faith that I’m right.

    NOW! There’s a big caveat here. =)

    Even though I don’t think the same as others, or agree with them, I do try to understand them. I put alot of energy into trying to understand the “how” and the “why” of different perspectives (like yours for example) because I think it’s important that people can talk to each other and exchange ideas with each other.

    I may not be a religious person, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t helped volunteer in a church soup kitchen or gone to a mass or sermon. In fact, my son was baptized and honestly….it didn’t bother me a bit. I took part in the ceremony and I’m proud to say I got my lines right and it went off rather well.

    I feel that trying to understand the nature of people’s beliefs and then trying to see how they view the world through the lens of those beliefs helps us connect with one another. =)

    Pastor C, I hope this kind of sheds light on my curiosity in our previous conversations and I look forward to our future discussions. You strike me as a man of great integrity and my invitation for a cup of coffee stands should you ever find yourself in Chicago one day!

  3. Pastor Curt Says:

    Dave, thanks for stopping by, reading and contributing to the conversation. Communicating with people helps us to understand. Understanding one another is an important step in living at peace with each other.

    If I am ever going to be in Chicago, I will take you up on that cup of coffee:)

Leave a Reply

