Letting Go

As a parent, one of the things that I have found to be challenging is knowing when it is time to let go.  As our children grow up they become more and more independent.  They make more and more decisions for themselves and accept more and more of the responsibility for their own lives.  As my boys are now young men, my responsibilities are quickly becoming fewer.

That is not as easy as it sounds.

I like to make the decisions.

However, I certainly do not want them to be dependent on me their whole lives.  It is time for them to be growing up, and time for me to be letting go.

This reminds me of other areas in which I have to let go.

I need to let go of things that others could be doing at the church.  When people want to step up and take charge of various church activities.  I need to be willing to let go, so that they can be involved in the ongoing work of the church.  The church is a body of believers with each one doing their part.

I need to let go of those things that only God can do in my life, and in my ministry.  I need to let God be the one in control.  After all, if I have given Him my hopes, and dreams and life, then I need to not take them back but allow God to do what he wants to do, both in me, and through me.

Letting go isn’t easy.

But it is necessary.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Letting Go”

  1. Gloria Says:

    yes that is a challenge and it isn’t easy

  2. Suzanne Says:

    I can still hear the words “if you want something done right , do it yourself.” It morphed into all aspects of my life. I need God’s help to fully let go of that one. Where I once took pride in my independence, I now long for a greater dependence on God.

  3. Pastor Curt Says:

    It is funny, the things that stay with us for so long and the impact it can have on us.

Leave a Reply

