Keep Talking

I have noticed that silence isn’t always golden. 

It is important to maintain communication going in relationships.  This is not something that comes naturally to me.  I have to put forth effort to engage in conversations.  As a general rule I am willing to let others talk, and I will listen, but communication is a two way street.  I am expected to contribute my share to the conversation. 

This point is illustrated to me by the way that I interact with other commenters on dissenting blogs.  I have noticed that it is more enjoyable when people of varying opinions keep the discussion going, as long as it is done in a civil manner.

If I can keep an interaction going with complete strangers, then certainly I ought to be able to converse with my family and friends.  Of course, on line the timing is different, and you can take as long as you need to take to sort out your thoughts, but the idea is still there. 

Interaction.

Discussion.

Putting forth what is in your thoughts.

I wonder how many of the problems that exist between people; whether it is a friendship, an employment situation, or entire communities, could be resolved if people would simply keep talking to each other until they come to an understanding and a peaceable solution.

I’ll keep working on it in my life.

How about you?

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Keep Talking”

  1. Gloria Says:

    silence as you well know can be interpeted as agreement, which can create problems. 🙂
    Keep talking!!

  2. Dave Says:

    As a member of a dissenting blog, I agree with Pastor C 100% on this. Being able to talk to people we don’t always agree with not only helps us learn more, but helps the people we talk to learn more as well.

    It’s not always easy, but nothing worth doing ever is. =)

  3. Pastor Curt Says:

    Dave, I had our discussion on dam’s site in mind as I wrote this post. I appreciate having the opportunity to continue our interaction. Welcome to my blog:)

Leave a Reply

