What is “Good”?

A new semester has started at the college.  This semster I am teaching logic and ethics.  For three out of the four classes that I teach I have used the same basic format and the same text for years.  I keep changing the ethics course format and text because I just haven’t been quite happy with the way that it goes.  I feel that I can do better. 

Recently, I was going through some of my material from previous years and I came across a definition that I had written of “good”.  Here it is:  “Something is good to the degree to which it meets, or exceeds our expectations.”   That was a good meal.  That is a good movie.  This is a great car.  You get the idea.  This is a very subjective definition and obviously will vary greatly from person to person. 

I continued with the observation that if a God  exists, then something would be “good” to the degree that it meets with God’s expectations.

Obviously, none of us are perfect, we have all fallen short of God’s expectations.  That is why we need forgiveness and a saviour that God has provided in Jesus. 

Yet, we can make choices to do the right thing.  “Cease to do evil, learn to do good.”  God will both guide us to know what is right, and will give us the strength to do what is right.  Will we become perfect? Not in this life, but we will be continuously becoming more what God wants us to become, we can become “good” in his sight.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “What is “Good”?”

  1. Gloria Says:

    Hopefully this semester the ethics format will be ‘good’.

  2. Pastor Curt Says:

    I hope so as well.

Leave a Reply

