Religious Diversity

I read in the paper this morning that New Hampshire Episcopal Bishop Gene Robinson will participate in the the inauguration by saying a prayer at the Lincoln Memorial. 

The reason that this is noteworthy is that Robinson is an openly gay minister.

A few weeks ago the gay community was outraged that Rick Warren had been asked to participate in the inauguration festivities.  Warren is an evangelical who classifies homosexual activity as a sin.

President elect Obama is making good on his promise to be inclusive in his administration.  He wants to allow representation from all America during his term, from start to finish.  That is a good thing.

I suppose it would even be appropriate to have a Muslim say a prayer.  We have many American citizens who are Muslim.

We are supposed to be a country of religious freedom for all.

Aren’t we?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Religious Diversity”

  1. azoptimist Says:

    Hello Pastor Curt,

    I’m all for diversity and religious freedom.
    I’m a Christian and a member of non-denominational church.

    A few years ago, I lost a close gay friend to AIDS. He was extremely kind-hearted, hard working, and simply fun to be around. He committed suicide.

    I still wonder if AIDS killed him or if the stigma of being gay with AIDS did him in.

    The BIBLE tells Christians to hate the sin but not the sinner. I am against homosexuality but not against homosexuals.

    If we began hating sinners, we might as well all go to hell.

    I fall short of HIS perfect standards daily. I’ll never be perfect.
    I’m so glad our God is a merciful, gracious God. As a Christian, I want to extend to others the mercy and compassion He has extended to me.

    Mark has been gone three years. I think about him often.

    • Pastor Curt Says:

      I am sorry for your loss. God loves all people, and reaches out to them with His love through Jesus Christ.

  2. morsec0de Says:

    As it’s President-Elect Obama’s and the Democratic Party’s party, they can have anyone they want give prayers. Or no one at all.

    I’d prefer no one at all, but I’m biased. Don’t like religion in my politics.

  3. Gloria Says:

    One thing these next 4 years will be is ‘interesting’.

  4. Pastor Curt Says:

    morsecOde, thank you for reading and for your comments. The prayers have been a part of inauguration activities, probably since the beginning. Most people appreciate them, others tolerate them, some oppose them.

    Gloria; indeed, they will be interesting.

Leave a Reply

