Time Out

I can’t remember the details, but the other day I saw a cartoon on television where a little girl quietly asks a monster that is running amok if they needed a time out.  Children are sometimes given time outs as punishment, but sometimes as an opportunity to simply wind down.

Last night, I sat in our living room watching a fire burn in the fireplace, listening to Christian music.  In a way, I was doing nothing, but in a way I was doing something very important.

I was taking a time out.

I suspect that we have a tendency to be way too busy.  In my life, I know that between church, school and home, I have enough work to do to be busy all the time.  That is not a good thing.  I think that we all could use a time out now and then.  Actually, I think it should be a regular part of our life.  By the way, watching television is not what I mean by a time out. When we watch television we are processing incoming information.  There is a steady stream, and we are constantly receiving additional input.  Watching television is not the same as quietly sitting and thinking about stuff… or simply letting your mind and spirit settle down. 

Do you need a time out?

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Time Out”

  1. Gloria Says:

    yes I do. probably in more ways than one. 🙂

  2. mahatma1and1raguel Says:

    you gotta be still but still moving into another intensity…as we need more silence and less violence ,,, gentleman said so

  3. Pastor Curt Says:

    Gloria, take a time out for yourself.

    mahatma 1and1raguel, thank you for your comment. There are different layers of stillness, and different areas for growth. If we are still on the outside, we may be growing, or healing, on the inside.

Leave a Reply

