Faith Works

I teach philosophy at a community college.  I have the opportunity to meet a lot of young people who are just getting started in life.  I know that many times children who are raised in church go off to college and leave their faith behind.  I also am firmly convinced from what I have seen in my own life and in the lives of many others, that faith works.

By that I mean that maintaining our faith in Jesus gives us a wonderfully stable foundation upon which to build our lives.  We are able to live rich, fulfilling lives, by continuing to live in a relationship with God through our faith in Jesus. 

It is OK to question our faith.  I believe that the pieces of this life fit together well if seen through a religious worldview.  God is not afraid of our intellectual curiosity.  His Word and his ways are worth pondering.  They provide a lifetime of material.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Faith Works”

  1. Gloria Says:

    I’ve heard it said from college students that there are professors who will publicly proclaim that their goal is to undermine a students faith. That is sad.
    “Train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old he will not depart from it” I know that it worked for me. I reached a point where, like the prodigal, I wanted to come “home”. And there was God with arms outstretched.

  2. Pastor Curt Says:

    Gloria, I like to think that, at the very least, my classes are “Christian friendly”.

Leave a Reply

