Routine or Rut?

I am a creature of habit.  I like to follow a routine.  I have a list of things that I do and I find comfort in following the established pattern.  It helps me to get  a lot done and to not feel overwhelmed by the amount of stuff.

I sometimes wonder if the routine has become a rut?  Is it time to “hold the course” or time to change the routine?  Perhaps this is merely my version of a midlife crisis?  A while back at a ministers’ conference we were encouraged to change things up a bit, to try something different.  I have been thinking about that, and I wonder different “how?” or “what?” or “why”???

Is different better?  Is different necessary?  Is change good? 

Where do we go from here?  Or do we need to go? 

Is it routine?

Or is it a rut?

I believe very firmly in the ability of God to provide direction as needed.  I need to be open to His guidance.  I need to be willing to change.  I need to be willing to not change.  God will provide the guidance.  I will follow as He leads.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Routine or Rut?”

  1. tjalexander Says:

    Routine is something I don’t have. I have to wonder if I had a routine(not that I haven’t tried to set a routine a time or two)would I get things done? Right now there is no routine, So dishes don’t get done, laundry falls behind..ect. If I had a routine time to do dishes, say between 8 and 9pm when I’m winding down for the night. My mom use to say (she has given up trying to make this point) “You feel so much better getting up to a clean house every morning, you have a better outlook on your day” I have no doubt that it’s true, I have experienced it… once or twice 🙂 But the routine is not there, there for I dunwanna wins almost always. As far as the laundry goes, if it were a routine to come home from work and throw a load of laundry in it might not fall behind. I will say it’s not the actual act of doing the laundry that I hate, it’s the putting it away that gets me. If I do the laundry then I know I’ll have to put it away…well in theory. or live out of a basket. I will stop now because I shed no good light on myself here. But I have to say routine is good. I wonder how come it doesn’t stick in my life.

  2. cgirod Says:

    tj, thank you for reminding me of some of the benefits of routine. Why it is hard to establish good routines is a good question.

Leave a Reply

