Experiencing God in Worship

I have always, for as long as I can remember, enjoyed the musical aspects of church services.  Some of my earliest memories are of standing next to my father singing hymns in the Lutheran church that we attended.  The song “Holy, Holy, Holy” will forever have a special place in my heart.  I remember the songs that we sang in Sunday School, and then at camp.  Those songs were special to me and they touched my heart.  Then I started attending Camp Zion, and was introduced to a whole new style of worship.  After a couple of years I was able to join the Christian Life Singers and become a part of the worship team playing percussion instruments.  I always wanted to be filled with the Spirit as I played so that in the same way that we can be led by the Spirit in our words and our actions, that I would be led by the Spirit as I played.

It has been thirty years since I first started playing on the worship team.   It has reached the point where I would rather be playing either drums or percussian than singing in the congregation. 

The wonderful thing is, that either playing or singing, I can have a wonderful sense of the presence of  God in worship.  The sense of the presence of God brings healing and refreshment to my mind, body, and spirit.  Usually,  I am almost oblivious to the rest of the congregation because my focus is on God.  Sometimes, though I will look around the congregation, just to get a sense of how others are responding.  Many are like me, lost in worship, enjoying an encounter with the Spirit of God, but some are passively waiting for the singing to be over.  I feel sorry for all of those people who seem unable to make the connection.  Who seem unaware of the presence of God.  It is possible that they too, are experiencing an encounter with God, only it is not outwardly expressed.  I hope that that is the case.  I can’t understand how they can be immune to what God can do in a simple worship service.  I hope and pray that everyone who is present will have an encounter with God, that in every worship service, all will be refreshed and renewed in their faith, even as I am refreshed and renewed in my own.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Experiencing God in Worship”

  1. Gloria Says:

    I remember thinking I would never be able to worship God the way I wanted to and play the piano at the same time. You were an inspiration to me. In you I saw that it could be done and in fact that it could be great. I still prefer to not be tied to a piano, but no longer is the piano an obstacle.

  2. cgirod Says:

    You do a wonderful job with our worship team, not every pastor is as blessed as I am, with a wife who can play piano, and lead worship so well.

  3. Suzanne Says:

    I too have fond memories of “Holy, Holy’ Holy” and standing next to Dad singing. Music indeed brings our entire being into worship of our Lord Jesus.

  4. cgirod Says:

    Suzanne, to this day, I enjoy that song as much for the memories as for the current experience.

Leave a Reply

