Appreciating Art

I appreciate most types of art.  I can enjoy a child’s crayon drawing or a master’s painting.  I like to look at what I see and I like to wonder what goes beyond what I can see. 

Aesthetics is a subdivision of axiology which is one of the three primary areas of study in philosophy.  It is routinely ignored in most Introduction to Philosophy textbooks.  That is a shame, because the attempt to communicate truth, or to impact feelings through the various artistic mediums is a wonderful area of philosophical study.  Music, acting, painting, dance, sculpture, photography,  and other more obscure art forms all seek to communicate something that goes beyond words alone.  It is a fascinating area of study.

Appreciating art does not mean that you have to accept what others say or think.  It does help to have some exposure and education about styles and techniques, but mostly it is about what you are able to see, and what the artwork says to you.  Was the artist able to express themselves?  Were you able to understand?  

I believe that being able to appreciate various things in life, like different forms of art,  helps us to enjoy the “abundant life”  that God has for those who believe.  Like so many things, discretion should be used because there is much in art that is not edifying for the believer.  We do not need to expose ourselves to the perverted garbage that is occassionally  an expression of art, but “those things that are lovely, that are of good report, dwell on those things.”  Art can add to the quality of our lives.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Appreciating Art”

  1. tom Says:

    I like this, I find that my own mind provides me with plenty garbage, if I really look at something with out thinking and just clear the decks so to speak: there it is. A moment of delight.

  2. cgirod Says:

    tom;

    When a work of art brings a moment of delight to my heart, whether or not that is what the artist intended, I am grateful. At times, other emotions may be invoked, and, that can be good as well.

    Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

