As Unto the Lord

The church that I pastor is a small church, for most of the seventeen years that I have been here I have worked at secular jobs to supplement my income.  One of the jobs that I had was working on the pipe crew for JE Merit at a local ADM plant.  While I was there I was continually reminded about how important it was to keep a good attitude toward my work.  I even went to the extent, of writing Colossians 3:23 on my toolbox lid.  “Whatsoever you do, do as unto the Lord and not unto men.”  It really helped during some of the long, hot, cold, boring, difficult…work hours to remember that everything that I did, was ultimately unto the Lord. 

I once heard a minister, that regularly preached to thousands, say that when he was ministering to small  groups in the early days of his ministry, he would imagine himself preaching to large crowds, and now he does minister to large crowds.  Last night as I was playing the drums during the worship time at our church, with an even smaller than normal attendance; I momentarily thought about what he had said about imagining himself preaching to large groups.  For a brief moment, I imagined a larger congregation, but then it occured to me,  that every time I play, or teach, or preach, I am doing so in the presence the Lord of Lords and the King of Kings.  Does it get any better than that?  The rest of the service was done “as unto the Lord, and not unto men.”

2 Responses to “As Unto the Lord”

  1. LisaB Says:

    I wonder if the guy picturing the large crowd enjoyed the idea of preaching before a large crowd and envisioned it in hopes of someday being able to or if he might’ve struggled with the idea of preaching before a large crowd and envisioned it to help him overcome that so he could be more prepared for it (in the event that God would give him a larger crowd to preach to someday). If it were the latter, I wonder if even then God had given him some sort of sense that the large crowd he preaches to now was on its way to his ministry.

  2. cgirod Says:

    LisaB, he specifically stated that he wanted to preach to large crowds and was recommending the process to those of us who were in attendance as a way to achieve that goal.

Leave a Reply

