Enjoy the Moment

I wasn’t sure what I was going to write about today.  There are many ideas that continue to flutter around inside of my head waiting for release.  However,  I just finished reading the blog of someone from my church who had a busy day at work.  Before that, I was talking with my son, who is home from college for the summer,  who was headed off for his shift at a local factory.  He is thankful for his job, but he was saying that he would just like the next eight hours to be over.  I was reminded of how blessed I am that, although I work way more than I should, at least I enjoy my work.  It is very seldom that I find myself wishing that the next period of time will be over. 

I am reminded again of how important it is to be able to enjoy the moment.  At any given time to look around and find something to appreciate at that point in time.  Right now for example, the early morning sun is coming in the eastern windows, there are birds chirping in the trees outside,  there are seashells that my family found on the Florida coast years ago sitting quietly on a shelf near the computer reminding me of happy memories, I could go on and on, but I hope that you get my point.

I remember years ago, going through Marine Corps boot camp, I considered it to be a good moment, if I wasn’t in any pain.  If I was in pain, I knew that it was temporary, and would focus on something else.  

The point is that at any given moment there is good and bad things going on around us.  I believe that if we focus on the good, it will make our days, and our lives much more enjoyable. 

Remember also, that if you cannot see the good in the world around you, there is always God….He is always good. 

2 Responses to “Enjoy the Moment”

  1. me Says:

    It is what we focus on that will in turn impact how our day is going. Negativity breeds negativity. In turn an optimistic attitude will see the potential – even in tough times.
    Good thoughts.

  2. cgirod Says:

    me, a good attitude makes so much difference in all areas of our lives.

Leave a Reply

